Church Leadership


“It is the duty of elders, individually and jointly, to strengthen and nurture the faith and life of the congregation committed to their charge. Together with the pastor, they should encourage the people in the worship and service of God, equip and renew them for their tasks within the church and for their mission in the world...” Elders serve on Session for a term of three years at Shepherd of the Hill. Their meetings are held on the second Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m.

Class of 2018
Jay Kennon
Scott Pantaleo
John Stevens
Pat Williams

Class of 2019
Don Bennett
Valerie Emly
Brad Maxa

Class of 2020
Susan Boyles
Helen Carpenter
Jane VonHeeder

Gayle Shenk, Clerk of Session

Don Bennett, Chairperson
Duties: To plan and manage the overall financial affairs and annual budget of the church and to consult with the pastor in matters affecting the pastor, session, staff, and the congregation. As directed by the session, the committee is responsible for the hiring and review of church employees.

Susan Boyles, Chairperson
Duties: To facilitate the adult and children’s educational programs of the church, oversight of the youth ministry programs of the church, and the development and promotion of the church library.

Jay Kennon and John Stevens, Chairpersons
Duties: To develop fellowship activities within the church, such as: church dinners, coffees, & events for study and recreation.

Pat Williams, Chairpersons
Duties: It is the responsibility of the committee to provide the congregation with opportunities to become personally involved in mission on a regular basis throughout the year. It is charged with distributing budgeted monies to charities, other ministries, community needs, or any other areas which the committee members judge to be worthy of support.

Scott Pantaleo, Chairperson
Duties: To be responsible for the care, maintenance and proper functioning of the church building, furniture, equipment, and the surrounding grounds of the church.

Valerie Emly and Helen Carpenter, Chairpersons
Duties: This committee shall, in close consultation with the pastor, represent denominational and congregational interests in the worship service. They will assist the pastor in planning services which reflect the policies established by the session. They shall oversee the staffing of the nursery.

This special committee is elected at our annual meeting of the congregation. This committee puts Shepherd of the Hill members into nomination for the offices of deacon and elder.



All deacons have a parish area of members of the congregation that they care for in times of joy or need. When you become a member, you will have a deacon assigned to you. If you ever have a concern, crisis, or questions, please contact your deacon for help.

They also assist at memorial services for members; provide care to those in need in our neighborhood through the making of Thanksgiving food baskets; and sponsor a Christmas Giving Tree so that local families with children that are referred to us can experience the joy of Christ's birth through a caring community.

Deacons serve on the board at Shepherd of the Hill for a three-year term. They hold their monthly meetings on the third Wednesday of the month at 7:00 p.m.

Class of 2018
Sharilyn Brown
Bev Cascio
Kelly McClure
Dorothy Shaughnessy

Class of 2019
Doug Boyles
Song DeGarmo
Carol Godinez
Brittain Southwell, Moderator

Class of 2020
Fran Miller
Jane Ann Severin 
Cindy Tobosa-Adams
Dave Williams